Sabrina’s Cafe

As you have probably noticed, I’ve been struggling to keep up with restaurant reviews since I created this blog last July. It’s a mixture of extremely busy college student with the fact that sometimes I do not have the patience to take a picture of every dish I eat! Regardless, from now on I will try my hardest to keep up with the (many)restaurants I frequent.

Now on to important matters-Sabrina’s Cafe. When two of my best friends, April and Julianna, and I took a day trip to Philadelphia during our spring break in March, I took to Yelp to find out a good brunch spot. Little did I know that the place I chose was one of my oldest sister, Kalyani’s, favorite restaurants in her local city of Philly. There are four Sabrina’s Cafe locations all throughout Philly and we visited the one on Drexel University’s campus.

From the outside, the cafe looks like an adorable cottage you would expect to see in a wooded area. Once you go inside, you are welcomed by pretty string lights and charming decor. We arrived around 11:30 hungry for some brunch after our drive into the city. Julianna ordered the Apple and Wisconsin Cheddar omelette which came with a side of home fries, April ordered a short stack of the Buttermilk Pancakes with chocolate chips and a side of fruit, and I ordered the Challah French Toast with a side of Parmesan Fries.

unnamed (9)

My favorite part of Sabrina’s Cafe, other than it’s cute decor and homey feel, was how well executed their food was. Everything we ordered was simple brunch food but the chefs at Sabrina’s executed them perfectly. In general, I prefer savory to sweet when it comes to brunch. But when I saw that challah french toast, I knew I had to have it. Challah is a traditional Jewish bread that is egg-rich and extremely delicious when used as the base for french toast. The challah french toast at Sabrina’s was buttery on the inside yet had a great crispy crust on the outside. April’s chocolate chip pancakes were light, fluffy and perfectly sweet whereas Julianna’s omelette was creamy, not overcooked and balanced.

Overall, Sabrina’s Cafe is a must if you are in the Philly area. Their brunch menu is filled with rustic, delicious choices that ensures you leave Philly with your belly full and a smile on your face!

Leave a Reply

