white wine and rosemary shrimp

My mom and I have explored so many food styles together; Indian, Italian, Thai, Chinese, the list goes on. But until recently, I had never tried cooking French cuisine. The main reason I wanted to try a French inspired dish was because of the wine. Oh yes, the wine. Although I’m legally not allowed to enjoy a glass of wine with my dinner, I’ve been very curious about food and wine pairings for a few years now. I became even more interested when I found out how wine can impart subtle yet complex flavors to many dishes. So I knew I had to try it ASAP.

Getting the wine bottle open was the main hurdle I faced, but as soon as the wafts of crisp and clean white wine, in this case a delicious Moscato, reached my nose, I was instantaneously transported to my happy place. I happened to have some fresh rosemary and shrimp in my fridge that day, so I had the perfect components to complete my French meal.

I feel that this dish is a good way to start off this new blog because it’s a perfect representation of my cooking style: classy, easy to put together and filled with flavor. Now come, jet set off to France with me!

White Wine and Rosemary Shrimp

(serves 2)

1/4 of a white onion

2 cloves of garlic

1/2 a pound of peeled and deveined shrimp*

1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

1-2 sprigs of fresh rosemary

1 pinch of crushed red chili flakes

1/2 cup of any white wine

1-2 tbsp unsalted butter

salt to taste

Instructions

  1. Chop the onion into a small dice and mince the garlic cloves
  2. Pull the rosemary leaves from the stems and give them a fine chop
  3. Over medium heat, in a medium skillet heat the extra virgin olive oil
  4. Add onions and garlic and a pinch of salt and cook till they’re translucent, about 5 minutes
  5.  Add the chili flake and chopped rosemary to the pan and stir. Cook for about 3 minutes
  6. Add the wine and deglaze the pan. Make sure you use a wooden spoon to dislodge the caramelized bits of onion and garlic from the bottom of the pan
  7. Increase the heat a little, and bring the sauce up to a low simmer
  8. Turn the heat to low, and stir in the butter
  9. Add salt to taste
  10. Add the shrimp and bring the heat up to medium low. Cook for about 3 minutes or until the shrimp turn pink
  11. Remove from heat and serve

serve with toasted french baguette and a light salad on the side along with a glass of the wine you used in the dish

*you can use fresh or frozen shrimp. If using frozen, make sure they are completely thawed before adding them into the sauce.

Leave a Reply

